List Management: What is a Permission Reminder and How Can I Change It?

Last Updated: Aug 18 2016 07:49 am UTC

A permission reminder is a short message that reminds recipient why are they receiving your email and how did they join your list (i.e., a website, an event, over the phone, product purchase etc.).

Note: Permission reminder must contain the name of the company or brand, website (example.com) or event where the person has subscribed.

This message will be visible to the subscribers, therefore adding an accurate and detailed permission reminder will minimize a chance for confusion and reduce spam complaints.

Most common cause for people to unsubscribe or complain is that they don't remember where and if they actually signed up for your emails!

For example:

"You are receiving this email because you are customer of Example Company."

"You are are receiving this email since you subscribed to our newsletter on "Example" conference or seminar."

"You are receiving this email because you agreed to receive newsletters from "Example" company over a phone conversation."

To change the permission reminder:

Click on the My Lists Option from the List Menu.

Roll your mouse over the list you wish to edit and click on the Settings Icon. This will open the Edit List Window.

Enter the reminder message in the Subscription Permission Reminder Text Box and click the Save Button to commit the changes.

The permission reminder message can also be added to your email campaign as a merge tag during Step 4: Content of campaign wizard. 


Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Copyrights © Mailigen. 2017 All rights reserved.